The "Automatically update all songs and playlists"-feature from iTunes


If your iPod is NOT set to "Manually manage music" iTunes will update the iPod/iPhone with your current library when you connect it.
This is a nice feature, but keep in mind the following two cases:

1.) Your iPod/iPhone contains songs, which you accidentally lost in your music library.
All songs, that doesn't exist in your music library anymore will be deleted from the iPod/iPhone if you connect it and iTunes does the update.
Do deactivate the automatic syncing from iTunes do the following steps:
- Make sure you have disconnected all iPods/iPhones !
- Start iTunes, open the menu, choose “Preferences“, choose the “Devices“ tab. Check the checkbox “Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically“.
After that you can start restoring your songs.

2.) You want transfer songs from your iPod/iPhone to another PC with installed iTunes.
When iTunes is started you get a message “The iPod/iPhone is synced with another iTunes library. Do you want to erase this iPod/iPhone and sync with this iTunes library?“.
If you click "Erase and sync" iTunes will delete all songs on the iPod/iPhone, which are not in the current music library. And this were the songs you want to transfer...
So always answer with "Cancel" !
After that you can start restoring your songs.

You can deactivate the automatic syncing from iTunes by two ways:
1.) To deactivate syncing for ALL iPods, iPhones and iPads:
- Make sure you have disconnected all iPods !
- Start iTunes, choose “Edit“ menu, choose “Preferences“, choose the “Devices“ tab. Check the checkbox “Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically“.

2.) To deactivate the automatic syncing for individual devices:
- Set the iPod/iPhone preferences to "Manually manage songs and playlists".
- Start iTunes, choose “Edit“ menu, choose “Preferences“, choose the “Devices“ tab. Check the checkbox “Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically“.
This will disable the automatic syncing for all devices. Now you can connect your iPod/iPhone and set the option for this iPod/iPhone only.
- Click on the iPod/iPhone in iTunes and choose "Summary", go to "Options". Check the checkbox "Manually manage music and videos".
After that is done you can deactivate the iTunes setting “Prevent iPods, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically“ if needed.


It is strongly recommended to disable the automatic syncing from iTunes before using iDevice2PC!
When you have transferred all successfully into iTunes you can set this option back to auto sync, if you want.